IIRF MBA Ranking 2026: The Full Top 10, What It Measures, and the Ranked Schools You Can Reach Below 90 Percentile

Published 17 October 2026 · Ranks as printed on iirfranking.com (the page gives no release date) · CAT bands and fees from this site’s directory · Prepared by the bestmbacollegeswithlowcatscore.com editorial team

Quick answer

IIRF’s 2026 MBA ranking puts IIM Ahmedabad first among government B-schools and SPJIMR first among private ones. It is the only national MBA ranking with a 2026 edition right now: NIRF 2026 had still not been released when we checked on 16 October. Nearly every school in IIRF’s top 10 admits above 90 percentile, but a few schools further down the lists sit well within reach: UBS Panjab University (about ₹2.8 lakh total fee, 80–90 percentile band) and Rajagiri Centre for Business Studies (₹6 lakh, 50–65 percentile band) both appear in IIRF’s 2026 tables as reported by mbagate.

IIRF is not NIRF. NIRF is the Ministry of Education’s ranking. IIRF is published by a private company, International Institutional Ranking Framework Private Limited, according to the copyright line on its own site. Use it as one signal among several, not as an official verdict, and check any fee or placement figure in the institute’s own brochure.

Why this ranking matters this month

NIRF is normally the ranking aspirants reach for in September. The 2025 edition came out on 4 September 2025. This year the Ministry of Education has not given a date, and as of 16 October there is still no 2026 list. We track that on our NIRF 2026 status page. In the gap, search interest has drifted towards the rankings that do carry a 2026 label, and IIRF is the most widely quoted of them.

That is reason enough to look at it carefully, though not to treat it as gospel. Below are the lists as IIRF prints them, the ranks beyond the top 10 that a secondary source reports, and a cross-check against our own directory of 197 colleges, so you can see which ranked schools are realistic at the percentile you are likely to score.

IIRF 2026: top 10 government B-schools

IIRF 2026 rankInstitute
1IIM Ahmedabad
2IIM Calcutta
3IIM Bangalore
4FMS, University of Delhi
5IIM Lucknow
6IIM Indore
7IIM Kozhikode
8JBIMS, University of Mumbai
9IIFT New Delhi
10IIM Mumbai (formerly NITIE)

Two names here stand out for anyone watching costs. FMS Delhi and JBIMS Mumbai are university departments with fees a fraction of the IIMs’. Both are among the most selective programmes in the country, though, so they belong on a stretch list rather than a safe one.

IIRF 2026: top 10 private B-schools

IIRF 2026 rankInstitute
1SPJIMR Mumbai
2XLRI Jamshedpur
3MDI Gurgaon
4SIBM Pune
5IMI New Delhi
6IMT Ghaziabad
7Woxsen School of Business, Hyderabad
8 (tie)NMIMS School of Business Management; SCMHRD Pune
9 (tie)Institute of Management, Nirma University; XIM Bhubaneswar
10 (tie)Great Lakes Chennai; MICA Ahmedabad

Ties take the private list to thirteen schools. Compared with the 2025 national order that IIRF prints alongside, SIBM Pune and IMI Delhi moved up while NMIMS and SCMHRD slipped to a shared eighth.

Beyond the top 10

IIRF’s ranking page prints only the top 10 in each list. mbagate.in, in a page updated on 25 July 2026, reports the next ranks from IIRF’s 2026 tables. We have not been able to confirm these on IIRF’s own page, so read them as reported rather than verified.

ListRank (as reported)Institute
Government11IIT Bombay (SJMSOM)
Government12IIT (ISM) Dhanbad, Department of Management Studies
Government13IIM Shillong
Government14IIT Delhi, Department of Management Studies
Government15IIM Nagpur
Government16 (tie)Vinod Gupta School of Management, IIT Kharagpur; University Business School, Panjab University
Government17ABV-IIITM Gwalior
Government18IIM Ranchi
Private11 (tie)XLRI Delhi NCR; TAPMI Manipal
Private12 (tie)Rajagiri Centre for Business Studies, Kochi; Dr D. Y. Patil B-School, Pune
Private13 (tie)IMT Nagpur; Goa Institute of Management

The ranked schools you can realistically reach

A ranking is only useful if the school will look at your score. So we matched every IIRF-listed school against our directory, which records the CAT percentile band each institute has admitted in, its total two-year fee and its reported average placement. Nineteen of the listed schools are in the directory. Here they are, lowest band first.

IIRF-listed schools in our directory. Bands, fees and placements are from our directory (verified 4 September 2026), not from IIRF.
InstituteIIRF 2026 list and rankCAT band (%ile)Total feeAvg placementCity guide
Rajagiri Centre for Business Studies, KochiPrivate 12 (reported)50–65₹6.0 L9.3 LPAKochi
Dr D. Y. Patil B-School, PunePrivate 12 (reported)50–65₹8.7 L8.0 LPAPune
Woxsen School of Business, HyderabadPrivate 770–80₹15 L9.9 LPAHyderabad
Institute of Management, Nirma UniversityPrivate 9 (tie)70–80₹13.3 L11.1 LPAAhmedabad
IMT NagpurPrivate 13 (reported)75–85₹13.5 L11.0 LPANagpur
University Business School, Panjab UniversityGovernment 16 (reported)80–90₹2.8 L12.4 LPAChandigarh
IIT (ISM) Dhanbad, DMSGovernment 12 (reported)80–90₹4.6 L10.5 LPADhanbad
ABV-IIITM GwaliorGovernment 17 (reported)80–90₹5.3 Lnot publishedGwalior
Great Lakes ChennaiPrivate 10 (tie)80–90₹22.5 L15.0 LPAChennai
IMI New DelhiPrivate 580–90₹23.5 L17.9 LPADelhi
MICA AhmedabadPrivate 10 (tie)80–90₹28 L19.2 LPAAhmedabad
TAPMI ManipalPrivate 11 (reported)85–92₹20.1 L13.1 LPAManipal
Goa Institute of ManagementPrivate 13 (reported)85–92₹21.5 L15.1 LPAGoa
IMT GhaziabadPrivate 688–94₹23 L16.3 LPAGhaziabad
VGSoM, IIT KharagpurGovernment 16 (reported)90–94₹13 L22.8 LPAKharagpur
XIM BhubaneswarPrivate 9 (tie)90–93₹26 L18.3 LPABhubaneswar
IIM NagpurGovernment 15 (reported)92–96₹18.5 L17.0 LPANagpur
IIM ShillongGovernment 13 (reported)92–96₹24 L17.0 LPAShillong
IIM RanchiGovernment 18 (reported)94–97₹19.2 L19.3 LPARanchi

Three things stand out.

  • Two ranked private schools admit in the 50–65 band. Rajagiri Centre for Business Studies and Dr D. Y. Patil B-School are the only IIRF-listed names a candidate around 55 or 60 percentile can apply to with a real chance. Both ranks come from the reported tables, not IIRF’s top 10. See the full 50–60 percentile list for the rest of the band.
  • The cheapest ranked schools are government departments. UBS Panjab University, IIT (ISM) Dhanbad and ABV-IIITM Gwalior all charge under ₹6 lakh in total. They admit in the 80–90 band, so they are realistic only if your mock scores point there. The 80–90 percentile guide covers that band in full.
  • A rank does not change the fee-to-salary maths. MICA and IMI Delhi charge more than ₹23 lakh. Their reported averages are high, but so is the outlay. Our MBA ROI index ranks every directory college by placement against fee, which is a better test of value than a rank alone.

What IIRF says it measures

IIRF names seven parameters: placement performance (PP), teaching, learning and resources (TLRP), research, industry income and integration, placement strategy and support (PSS), future orientation (FO), and external perception and international outlook (EPIO). Its own ranking page does not publish the weights and says some parameters are not publicly disclosed. mbagate reports them as follows.

ParameterWeight (as reported by mbagate)
Placement performance20%
Teaching, learning and resources20%
Research (volume, income and reputation)20%
Industry income and integration20%
Placement strategy and support5%
Future orientation5%
External perception and international outlook10%

IIRF’s own ROI article says placement carries the most weight. Either way, a school with strong recruiting and research will float up, and a small regional school with good value for money may not appear at all. That is why low-fee state-university departments are scarce in these lists even when their placement-to-fee ratio beats the private names above them.

Read the tables carefully

IIRF’s 2026 page is long and its tables do not always agree with each other. Before you quote a number from it, check these:

  • ISB Hyderabad sits sixth in one overall table but appears in neither the government nor the private top 10.
  • Fees differ between tables for the same school. IIM Lucknow is shown at ₹21 lakh, ₹21.75 lakh and ₹14.3 lakh in different places; XLRI ranges from ₹14.7 lakh to ₹29 lakh.
  • The ROI column is a word, not a number. Schools are labelled High, Medium or Extremely High rather than given a ratio.
  • One comparison table mixes the two lists, so SPJIMR and XLRI appear as 1 and 2 beside IIM Ahmedabad and IIM Calcutta, which hold the same numbers on the government side.

None of this makes the ranking useless. It means the rank order is the part worth using, and the fee and salary cells are not.

IIRF and NIRF side by side

IIRFNIRF
Run byInternational Institutional Ranking Framework Pvt Ltd (private)Ministry of Education, Government of India
2026 editionPublished; no release date on the pageNot released as of 16 October 2026
ListsSeparate government and private lists, plus other categoriesOne management list (top 100 in 2025)
ParametersSeven, weights not published by IIRFFive groups: teaching and resources, research, graduation outcomes, outreach and inclusivity, perception
Best useA 2026 shortlist signal while NIRF is pendingThe reference ranking once 2026 is out

If you want an official rank today, the latest is NIRF 2025. Our NIRF 2025 list sets each ranked school against the percentile band it admits in, which is the version most useful at a low score.

How to use this if your CAT percentile may be low

  1. Estimate your band first. The CAT college predictor and the percentile-to-college guide turn a mock score into a realistic list.
  2. Treat the IIRF names in your band as a bonus, not the whole list. At 50–65 percentile that is two schools; there are dozens of unranked colleges with better value.
  3. Compare on total fee and placement, not rank. Ask each school for its latest placement report and check the fee in the current brochure.
  4. Keep a second test open. If your CAT goes badly, XAT registration runs to 6 December 2026; see every exam still open.

Frequently asked questions

Has the IIRF MBA ranking 2026 been released?

Yes. IIRF’s site carries a 2026 MBA ranking with separate government and private lists. The page does not state a release date.

Which college is ranked first in IIRF 2026?

IIM Ahmedabad is first among government B-schools and SPJIMR Mumbai is first among private B-schools.

Is IIRF a government ranking like NIRF?

No. NIRF is run by the Ministry of Education. IIRF is published by a private company, International Institutional Ranking Framework Private Limited.

Which IIRF-ranked MBA colleges accept a low CAT percentile?

In our directory, Rajagiri Centre for Business Studies (Kochi) and Dr D. Y. Patil B-School (Pune) admit in the 50–65 percentile band. Both are ranked 12 among private schools in IIRF 2026 tables as reported by mbagate.

Has NIRF 2026 been released?

Not as of 16 October 2026. The Ministry of Education has not announced a date; the 2025 ranking was released on 4 September 2025.

Before you pay anything: check that the college is AICTE-approved and know the refund rules.

Want a shortlist matched to your percentile and budget? Get your free shortlist →

Sources & methodology

IIRF ranks are as printed on iirfranking.com, read on 15 and 16 October 2026; ranks marked “reported” come from mbagate.in (updated 25 July 2026) and could not be confirmed on IIRF’s own page. CAT bands, fees and average placements are from this site’s college directory, not from IIRF. Fees are total two-year programme fees excluding hostel, as listed in this site’s college directory (data verified 4 September 2026). Add hostel, mess and exam costs before comparing, and confirm the current fee in the institute’s admission brochure before you pay anything.

Leave a Comment